Posted by: David Yockey | March 25, 2020

God’s Reset Button

Silhouette of jesus giving helping hand Premium Photo

On Friday, March 20, 2020 as I was going for my evening walk around 6 p.m. I was praying about Sunday and specifically what God wanted to say to the church concerning the times we are currently in with the virus situation. And this is what I believe God said to me, “Reset button”. So, I asked what he meant. Again, I heard the words “Reset button”.  I got nothing further at that time. Then, as I was praying and studying around 10:30 p.m. I was reading “The Furious Longing of God” by Brennan Manning. He used a phrase that stuck with me in regards to showing the love of God. He was talking about tough times and still showing love.  He said, “In times of persecution, Theoretical Christianity will collapse.” It was that term, “Theoretical Christianity” that I could not get past. So, I sought the Lord about this term and why it stuck with me and what if anything it had to do with our current times.  This I believe is the response the Holy Spirit provided.  

This virus did not come from God. The scriptures say in John 10:10, “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” (NIV) In the book of Genesis 50:20 Joseph told his brothers (who had been influenced by Satan), “You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.” God’s desire to bring healing and life, not to take it. He works through his body, the church, to accomplish his will on this earth.  Now, what I am about to say is not aimed at any one particular church, pastor, ministry, or denomination. Rather, it is a commentary on the church as a whole. Up until now, the vast majority of the church has been involved in “Theoretical Christianity”. They will place a biblical saying on the bumper of their car, or quotes bible verses on their social media pages, but very few actually put it into practice. God is hitting the reset button on the church. A reboot if you will to take the church from theory to application. God is providing an opportunity for the church to become relevant in their communities again. To make an impact for him, to show his love the hurting.  

Concept conceptual black cross religion symbol silhouette Premium Photo

When Jesus said to tend to the widow, the orphan, and poor, he wasn’t just speaking theoretically, he actually meant for his body to do it. When he said in Matthew, “heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse those who have leprosy, drive out demons. Freely you have received; freely give.” He meant it. He wants the church in this time, in this hour to become relevant again. He has provided an opportunity for his body to become active again. So, in this time he is calling the church to get out of their buildings, notice they are not available right now, and go out to where the people are. Bring meals to those in need, check on your elderly neighbor, pray for anyone who is sick or fearful, provide goods to those who are struggling. Do this freely and in the love of God. By this, you will show that you are truly disciples of Christ. By these actions, you will become a sign beacon for those around you to see. A light in the dark times, a light pointing to God. This is how revival begins. By spreading the faith, hope, and love of God during dark times.  

Be Blessed!

Pastor David Yockey

http://www.theriveratcambridge.org


Leave a comment

Categories